The Hardened Hearts

One synonym of the word ‘hard’ would be ‘strong’.  When we say that such thing is really hard, it means it won’t break easily. This may be considered a good quality for the majority of the things, but hearts are a different matter. The heart that doesn’t break is the weakest thing in the world.

I am not a politician; to be honest; I don’t even understand much of it. When any major event happens in my country which unfortunately is often something negative all I am able to grasp is that some other matter is behind it. I will not lie about my feelings which are basically none when it comes to the political happenings of our country.

On the other hand the things about which I do feel concerned are usually the ones related to myself. I can be called a selfish person for that. Yet I will fight that statement because after careful consideration, I have come to the conclusion that I am not selfish, I am only tired. When all you get to hear is negativity, a time comes when you stop listening. I meet people who talk about hope as if all the problems in the world are due to hopelessness. I can’t be hopeful about this world where innocence is raped and innocents are murdered. I can’t chant ‘we shall rise’ with them for killers do not rise.

The Peshawar incident today shook us all from within. The children who lost their lives are not to be pitied, but those who are left behind are. One thing that makes humans unique from the rest of the creatures is that we feel. Although, lately we have stopped being humans, but no matter how heartless we become the images in our mind never truly diminishes. There is a picture circulating on the internet of a single blood stained shoe of a girl. I may forget it, the rest of the people who have seen it may forget it, but her mother or sister or brother or any other family member will never forget it. I can’t pretend that I can feel the magnitude of the incident because they were not my children. I am ashamed of my heart for it will not burst. I know I will forget it tomorrow or even in a few minutes.

This nation is bleeding because it deserves to bleed. The talibans have killed the innocent children. They ended their lives once and for all. We do that on a daily basis. We kill each other daily. The tragedy is that we are our own murderers. An enemy is supposed to attack. What to do when the killers are your own. I had rather die at the hand of a non-Muslim than someone who claims to be a Muslim. If you want to kill us, please convert to some other religion. I request some enemy country to bomb us and end this hypocrisy. At least there will be some logic, some honor left.

I admit that I am upset, but the thing that is more heart wrenching is that I won’t be after a while. I will go about my work or even the families of the deceased would do so too. It will become an event to remember for the sake of general knowledge for those who want themselves to be considered the knowledgeable.  Why? Because our hearts have become hard, even harder than rocks.
“Then your hearts became hardened after that, being like stones or even harder. For indeed, there are stones from which rivers burst forth, and there are some of them that split open and water comes out, and there are some of them that fall down for fear of Allah. And Allah is not unaware of what you do”

Leave a Reply

