A Pledge

I pledge to stop seeking the right in the wrong.

I will no longer wait for a rose to bloom on a cactus.

There is no beauty in the beasts.

There is no hidden humanity in the hearts of hunters.

Lesson learnt!

No more curiosity for what the darkness is made of. I give up on the idea that the ugly worms will turn into breathtakingly beautiful butterflies! They might for the world but I have not seen that world. On my side of the world, the worms stay ugly and die before transforming.

I will believe in the colors when I see them but I will never waste my time staring at the darkest shade of black and imagining that one day a rainbow will burst out from it.

The dirt is dirty and there is no point in looking for purity in it.

There is no more room in my world for fantasizing and romantacizing the self-inflicted useless pain.

There is no charm in ugliness.

I pledge to kill the contrast by righting the final wrong; looking for the other side of the fence in hopes that it is greener but which is always like my side.

Leave a Reply

